PetPolicyCheck

Pet insurance for travelers (US): what policies cover away from home

If your dog or cat gets sick or hurt on a trip, will your US pet insurance pay? It depends on where you are, how long you’ve had the policy and what it excludes. Below: what to check, and what 11 US insurers say on their own websites about travel coverage, waiting periods, age limits and reimbursement.

Disclosure: we have no affiliate relationship with any insurer on this page today, and every link goes to the insurer’s own site. If that changes, quote links will be marked “sponsored”; PetPolicyCheck may then earn a fee if you request a quote or buy a policy through them. That won’t change what you pay or how we describe products. Affiliate disclosure.

Not advice: PetPolicyCheck is not a licensed insurance agent or broker and does not sell, solicit or negotiate insurance. We provide general information only, not insurance advice. Coverage, availability and prices vary by state and are set by the insurer. Always read the policy documents and confirm details with the insurer.

Quick answer

Policies differ by state, product and underwriting company, and insurers change their terms. Confirm every detail with the insurer before you buy or travel. Last checked .

Why insurance matters when you travel with a pet

Trips bring new risks: heat, unfamiliar food and water, other animals, car and airport stress. If your pet needs an emergency vet away from home, you usually don’t know the clinic, you normally pay the bill yourself first, and it can be large. Abroad, it may come in another currency and language.

Pet insurance doesn’t change what the vet charges, but it can pay back part of a covered bill afterwards. Separate travel insurance for people usually doesn’t cover pets (Trupanion notes this on its travel FAQ), so check your pet’s policy before you go.

Where coverage applies: US only, US and Canada, or abroad

Waiting periods and pre-existing conditions

A waiting period is the time after the policy starts before claims are paid. Anything that starts during it is usually treated as pre-existing and never covered. Among the insurers below, accident waiting periods range from none to 15 days, and illness waiting periods from 14 days or less to 30 days. Orthopedic or knee (cruciate ligament) conditions can wait up to 6 months, or 12 months for hip dysplasia at Healthy Paws. Some insurers shorten these after a vet exam. If you’re planning a trip, compare start dates early.

Pre-existing conditions are excluded. Some insurers will cover a curable condition again once it has been cured and symptom-free for a set time (Spot: 180 days; Lemonade, in most states: 12 months), but not knee or ligament conditions.

What 11 US pet insurers say about travel coverage

Last checked , on each insurer’s own website or sample policy (linked in each row). Facts only, no prices and no rankings. Cells marked Check could not be confirmed, or the insurer’s pages disagree or vary by state or carrier (9 of 11 insurers have at least one). Your actual policy decides.

InsurerCovers care outside the US and Canada?Where coveredWaiting periodsAge limitsReimbursement optionsSources
Spot
Official site
NoUnited States, its territories (Guam, Puerto Rico, US Virgin Islands) and Canada. Care elsewhere is not covered.
Curable conditions cured and free of treatment and symptoms for 180 days are no longer treated as pre-existing (not knee or ligament conditions).
14 days for accidents and illnesses, including knee and ligament conditions. Preventive care (optional) starts the next day.From 8 weeks. No upper age limit.70%, 80% or 90%.Sample policy (Territory, Waiting periods)
FAQ
Reimbursement
checked
Pets Best
Official site
NoUnited States, Canada, and regions under US government control, such as territories or US military bases in other countries.
Optional Vet Direct Pay sends the covered amount straight to the vet.
Check In the Virginia sample policy: 3 days for injuries, 14 days for illnesses, 6 months for cruciate ligament events. Pets Best says waiting periods vary by state.From 7 weeks. No upper age limit.70%, 80% or 90%.Sample policy, Virginia (Treatment locations, Waiting periods)
FAQ
checked
Trupanion
Official site
NoUnited States, Canada and Puerto Rico, plus US and Canadian territories and military bases worldwide. Care elsewhere is not covered. (The sample policy PDF says only the US or Canada.)
Many US and Canadian vets can be paid directly by Trupanion.
5 days for injuries, 30 days for illnesses.Enroll before the pet's 14th birthday. Coverage then continues for life.Up to 90% of eligible costs, with no payout limits.Travel FAQ
Waiting periods
Age limits
Sample policy
checked
Lemonade
Official site
NoAny licensed vet in the United States, even in a state where Lemonade isn't sold. Treatment outside the US is not covered (this includes Canada).
Sold in 41 states and DC (per Lemonade's FAQ).
Check 14 days for illnesses, 30 days for orthopedic conditions. Depending on your state, Lemonade lists 0 or 2 days for accidents and 6 months for cruciate ligament events.Check Confirm with the insurer70%, 80% or 90%.Pet FAQ
Waiting periods
General FAQ (state waiting periods)
checked
Odie
Official site
NoUnited States or Canada (FAQ). The sample policy covers Canada only for temporary stays of 90 days or less and pays in US dollars.
Odie sells policies from more than one insurance company, so read the policy you are offered.
Check Depends on the underwriting carrier and your state: 0 to 15 days for injuries, 14 to 15 days for illnesses, and up to 6 months for cruciate ligament events on one product.Check Depends on the product: from 7 weeks with no upper limit, or 8 weeks to 14 years.Check 70% to 90% (one product offers 70% or 90%).Help Center
FAQ
Sample policy
checked
Fetch
Official site
NoAny licensed vet in the United States or Canada, including during a trip.
Lists cover for canceled vacation costs if your pet gets sick or injured before or during a trip (read the policy for limits).
Check Up to 15 days. Fetch's pages differ on accidents: the Help Center gives 15 days for injury and illness; the reimbursement page says accidents have no waiting period. 6-month exclusion for hip dysplasia, cruciates and patellas (the knee period can be waived with a vet exam).From 6 weeks. No upper age limit.70%, 80% or 90%.Help Center: Policy & coverage
Waiting period
Reimbursement
Buyer's guide (age)
checked
Healthy Paws
Official site
NoUnited States, and Canada only while you are temporarily traveling there.
Optional direct payment to any licensed US vet on covered claims.
15 days for accidents and illnesses. 12 months for hip dysplasia if enrolled at age 5 or under. Several states have different rules.From 8 weeks. Upper age limit: CheckUp to 90%. Exact options: CheckFAQ
Home page (any licensed vet, ages)
Sample policy (Washington)
checked
Embrace
Official site
Yes, per insurer (terms apply)Check Embrace says travel with your pet is covered for up to 6 consecutive months per trip, including outside the US and Canada.
We found the international wording on an Embrace comparison page, not in a policy document: confirm with Embrace before you rely on it.
14 days for illnesses. Accidents are covered from the policy effective date. Some states also have orthopedic waiting periods.Accident and illness plans: under 15. Pets 15 and older: accident-only plan. Minimum age: Check70%, 80% or 90%.Comparison page (international coverage, reimbursement)
Waiting periods
FAQ (accident-only plan, age 15+)
checked
Pumpkin
Official site
Check Not statedAny licensed vet in the United States or Canada. Care in other countries: Check14 days or less for all conditions, including knee injuries and hip dysplasia.From 8 weeks. No upper age limit.80% or 90%.Home page and FAQ
Plan summary
checked
ASPCA Pet Health Insurance
Official site
Check Not statedAny licensed vet in the United States or Canada. Care in other countries: CheckCheck Confirm with the insurerCheck Confirm with the insurerUp to 90%. Exact options: CheckTop questions
Home page
checked
Nationwide
Official site
Yes, per insurer (terms apply)Any licensed vet, anywhere in the world (Nationwide FAQ). The buyer's guide says the same applies "in the U.S. or abroad".Most plans start 14 days after your application is approved and payment is received.Enrollment ages: Check Cats 8 and older cannot enroll in hereditary coverage.Depends on the plan: some pay a percentage, others pay set benefit amounts. CheckFAQ
Buyer's guide
checked

Confirm with the insurer: this table summarizes the insurers’ public pages as read on . Terms vary by state and can change at any time, and the policy document always decides. Found something out of date? Tell us.

Before you travel: a short checklist

Last checked . PetPolicyCheck is not a licensed insurance agent or broker and does not sell, solicit or negotiate insurance. We provide general information only, not insurance advice. Coverage, availability and prices vary by state and are set by the insurer. Always read the policy documents and confirm details with the insurer. Prices are set by insurers in US dollars and are not shown here.