Pet-friendly hotels in the US: chain pet fees, weight limits and city guides
What the big US hotel chains charge for a dog or cat, how heavy a pet they accept and how many per room, read on each chain’s official site. Then pick a city for local tips on airport pet relief areas and dog parks.
Policies change: confirm with the hotel. Pet fees, weight limits and the number of pets are set by each brand and often by each hotel, and can change without notice. We read every chain’s official page on . Call or message the hotel to confirm before you book, and declare your pet at check-in.
City guides
Hotel chain pet rules (US, brand-wide)
Last checked on each chain’s official website. Fees in US dollars, weights in pounds. Rows marked Check could not be read on the official site.
| Chain | Pet fee (USD) | Max weight (lb) | Max pets per room | Notes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kimpton (IHG) | No pet fee, no deposit | No size or weight limit | No limit on number | Brand-wide promise on Kimpton's pet page; individual hotels may still post their own rules, so check the hotel page. | Official page |
| Motel 6 | Free (no pet fee) | 150 lb combined | 2 per room | Pets must be declared at check-in and not left alone in the room. Some Studio 6 properties may charge a pet fee; local law can forbid pets at a location. | Official page · more |
| Red Roof Inn / Red Roof PLUS+ | 1st pet free; 2nd pet $15 per night (max $105 per extra pet for 7+ nights) | 80 lb per pet | 2 per room (more at manager's discretion, $15/night each) | HomeTowne Studios and The Red Collection set their own rules. Two listed locations (Oxon Hill, MD and Bellmawr, NJ) cannot accept pets. | Official page |
| La Quinta by Wyndham | Optional fee up to $25 per night, max $75 per room per stay | Some locations set a limit (ask the hotel) | 2 per room | Pets are not allowed in the breakfast area, gym or pool. La Quinta lists hotels that take no pets, including La Quinta New York City Central Park, Queens, Brooklyn Downtown and Brooklyn East. | Official page |
| Drury Hotels | Daily fee, minimum $50 per night (varies by hotel) | 80 lb combined | 2 per room | Pets are not allowed in the lobby, dining area, pool or fitness center and should not be left alone in the room. | Official page · more |
| Loews Hotels | Not stated: varies by hotel | Not stated: varies by hotel | 2 per room | Up-to-date vaccinations required. Loews says additional cleaning fees and property-specific policies may apply: check the hotel's page. | Official page |
| Hilton brands (Hampton, Home2, Homewood, DoubleTree, Embassy Suites and more) | Fees apply and vary by hotel | Not stated: varies by hotel | Not stated: varies by hotel | Hilton says it welcomes pets at over 5,000 hotels in the US and Canada; rules are set per hotel, so filter for pet-friendly and read the hotel's policy. | Official page |
| Aloft (Marriott) | Not stated: varies by hotel | Not stated: varies by hotel | Not stated: varies by hotel | Aloft's ARF program welcomes pets with a bed, bowl, treats and toys. The brand page gives no fee, weight or number: each Marriott hotel sets its own pet rules. | Official page |
| Four Seasons | Not stated: varies by hotel | Not stated: varies by hotel | Not stated: varies by hotel | No brand-wide pet policy: each hotel sets its own. Example: Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown welcomes dogs and cats under 25 lb. | Official page |
| Best Western | Check Not stated: varies by hotel | Not stated: varies by hotel | Not stated: varies by hotel | We could not load Best Western's official pet-friendly page on the date checked, so we show no numbers. Check the hotel's own page before you book. | Official page |
Luxury hotel brands: pet rules are set per hotel
At luxury brands there is rarely one brand-wide pet policy: fees, weight limits and even whether pets are allowed change from hotel to hotel. Each city guide lists luxury hotels with their own published pet rules (checked ) and a booking link.
| Brand | Pet rules | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Four Seasons | No single brand rule: each hotel sets its own (Orlando: 1 pet up to 25 lb; New York Downtown: dogs and cats under 25 lb; Miami: pet-friendly rooms, details not published). | Official page |
| Ritz-Carlton, St. Regis, EDITION (Marriott) | Set per hotel and shown on each hotel’s Marriott page: e.g. Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park takes 2 pets up to 60 lb for $300, while The St. Regis New York takes no pets. | Official page |
| Waldorf Astoria (Hilton) | Hilton says pet fees apply and vary by hotel; Waldorf Astoria Orlando takes 2 dogs, 40 lb combined, $125-$250 per stay. | Official page |
| 1 Hotels | Brand page: no extra pet fees and up to two dogs, but policies vary by location (1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge adds a $250 cleaning fee if the room gets dirty). | Official page |
| Kimpton (IHG) | No pet fee, no deposit and no size, weight or number limit, brand-wide; Kimpton EPIC Miami confirms this on its own page. | Official page |
| Loews Hotels | Up to 2 pets per room and up-to-date vaccinations; Loews says cleaning fees and property rules may apply (Loews Miami Beach: $50 per stay). | Official page |
| The Peninsula, Aman, Mandarin Oriental, Faena | Rules are published per hotel, not brand-wide: see the New York and Miami pages for each hotel's own fee, weight and number limits. | Official page |
City pages may contain affiliate links; if you book through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It never changes the pet rules we publish. Disclosure.
Driving or flying between states? See pet travel rules for the USA for each state’s health certificate and rabies rules.