PetPolicyCheck

Pet-friendly hotels in New York City: chain and luxury hotel pet fees, weight limits and local tips

New York City is the second most-searched US city for pet-friendly hotels. Space is tight and rules vary a lot by hotel, and some budget chains' NYC locations take no pets at all. Below: each chain's brand-wide rules from its official site, plus sourced NYC tips for JFK and the city's dog rules.

Policies change: confirm with the hotel. Pet fees, weight limits and the number of pets are set by each brand and often by each hotel, and can change without notice. We read every chain’s official page on . Call or message the hotel to confirm before you book, and declare your pet at check-in.

Quick answer

Hotel chain pet rules (US, brand-wide)

Last checked on each chain’s official website. Fees in US dollars, weights in pounds. Brand rules are a starting point: a franchised hotel in New York City can differ. Rows marked Check could not be read on the official site.

ChainPet fee (USD)Max weight (lb)Max pets per roomNotesSource
Kimpton (IHG)No pet fee, no depositNo size or weight limitNo limit on numberBrand-wide promise on Kimpton's pet page; individual hotels may still post their own rules, so check the hotel page.Official page
Motel 6Free (no pet fee)150 lb combined2 per roomPets must be declared at check-in and not left alone in the room. Some Studio 6 properties may charge a pet fee; local law can forbid pets at a location.Official page · more
Red Roof Inn / Red Roof PLUS+1st pet free; 2nd pet $15 per night (max $105 per extra pet for 7+ nights)80 lb per pet2 per room (more at manager's discretion, $15/night each)HomeTowne Studios and The Red Collection set their own rules. Two listed locations (Oxon Hill, MD and Bellmawr, NJ) cannot accept pets.Official page
La Quinta by WyndhamOptional fee up to $25 per night, max $75 per room per staySome locations set a limit (ask the hotel)2 per roomPets are not allowed in the breakfast area, gym or pool. La Quinta lists hotels that take no pets, including La Quinta New York City Central Park, Queens, Brooklyn Downtown and Brooklyn East.Official page
Drury HotelsDaily fee, minimum $50 per night (varies by hotel)80 lb combined2 per roomPets are not allowed in the lobby, dining area, pool or fitness center and should not be left alone in the room.Official page · more
Loews HotelsNot stated: varies by hotelNot stated: varies by hotel2 per roomUp-to-date vaccinations required. Loews says additional cleaning fees and property-specific policies may apply: check the hotel's page.Official page
Hilton brands (Hampton, Home2, Homewood, DoubleTree, Embassy Suites and more)Fees apply and vary by hotelNot stated: varies by hotelNot stated: varies by hotelHilton says it welcomes pets at over 5,000 hotels in the US and Canada; rules are set per hotel, so filter for pet-friendly and read the hotel's policy.Official page
Aloft (Marriott)Not stated: varies by hotelNot stated: varies by hotelNot stated: varies by hotelAloft's ARF program welcomes pets with a bed, bowl, treats and toys. The brand page gives no fee, weight or number: each Marriott hotel sets its own pet rules.Official page
Four SeasonsNot stated: varies by hotelNot stated: varies by hotelNot stated: varies by hotelNo brand-wide pet policy: each hotel sets its own. Example: Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown welcomes dogs and cats under 25 lb.Official page
Best WesternCheck Not stated: varies by hotelNot stated: varies by hotelNot stated: varies by hotelWe could not load Best Western's official pet-friendly page on the date checked, so we show no numbers. Check the hotel's own page before you book.Official page

Luxury pet-friendly hotels in New York City

Luxury hotels set their own pet rules, so we read each hotel’s official pet policy rather than the brand’s. Fees in US dollars, weights in pounds. Check means the official page leaves something unclear or another source disagrees: call the hotel before you book.

The Peninsula New York

The Peninsula · Fifth Avenue, Midtown

Pet fee$150 per stay
Max weight65 lb
Pets1 per room
SpeciesDog or cat
AmenitiesPet bed, food and water bowls; dog menu on request; dog walking by a Peninsula Page (extra fee, book ahead).
RulesNot in restaurants, banquet rooms, the spa or fitness center; carry your pet or use a carrier in the hotel; not alone in the room for more than 2 hours, and then in a carrier or crate.

Check rates on ExpediaHotel pet policy · checked

The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park

Ritz-Carlton (Marriott) · Central Park South

Pet fee$300 non-refundable, per room per stay
Max weight60 lb per pet
Pets2 per room
SpeciesNot stated
RulesSigned pet agreement required. Service animals welcome without a fee or documentation.

Check rates on ExpediaHotel pet policy · checked

Aman New York

Aman · Fifth Avenue, Midtown

Pet fee$350 non-refundable per stay
Max weight50 lb (22 kg) per dog
Pets2 per suite
SpeciesDogs only
RulesPet Registration Card; never left alone in the suite; leash or carrier in public areas and during housekeeping; not on furniture or in the pool; not allowed in rental-programme homes; damage: up to two nights’ rate plus a $500 deep-cleaning fee.

Search this hotel on ExpediaHotel pet policy · checked

Mandarin Oriental, New York

Mandarin Oriental · Columbus Circle

Pet feeCheck No additional fee (hotel website)
Max weightNot stated on the official page
PetsNot stated on the official page
SpeciesNot stated ("four-legged family members")
AmenitiesBeds and bowls; pet menu; pet-sitting (3-hour minimum) and dog walking up to 60 minutes for an extra fee.
RulesThe hotel says pet policies may apply and reservations will give full details before arrival.

Expedia’s listing shows different terms (dogs only, up to 25 lb, $250 per stay). Confirm with the hotel before booking.

Check rates on ExpediaHotel pet policy · more · checked

Faena New York

Faena · West Chelsea, by the High Line

Pet fee$250 non-refundable
Max weight25 lb
PetsNot stated on the official page
SpeciesDogs only
RulesPet guidelines may change with local government ordinances.

Check rates on ExpediaHotel pet policy · checked

Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown

Four Seasons · Tribeca / World Trade Center

Pet feeNot stated on the official page
Max weightUnder 25 lb
PetsNot stated on the official page
SpeciesDogs and cats
AmenitiesDog walking and pet-sitting can be arranged.

Check rates on ExpediaHotel pet policy · more · checked

1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge

1 Hotels · Brooklyn Bridge Park, Dumbo

Pet feeNo pet fee; $250 cleaning fee if the room gets dirty
Max weightNot stated on the official page
PetsUp to 2
SpeciesDogs (the page says "pups")
AmenitiesWelcome amenity; beds, bowls, poo bags and food available; treats and a dog-friendly concierge.
RulesLeash or carrier in public spaces; not in dining areas or the fitness center; a person must be present when staff enter; never left unattended. Add your pet to the reservation.

Check rates on ExpediaHotel pet policy · more · checked

Not pet-friendly:

Affiliate disclosure: some booking buttons are affiliate links. If you book through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It never changes the pet rules we publish. Disclosure.

JFK Airport pet relief areas

JFK says Service Animal Relief Areas are available at all terminals for service animals and pets, with indoor and outdoor spaces, artificial grass, sinks and waste stations. Use JFK's interactive map to find the one nearest your gate. Official source

Dogs in NYC parks

NYC Parks rules for dogs, from the official NYC Parks page: Official source

Chain notes for New York City

Official source

Before you book

Last checked . Hotel pet policies change and vary by property; confirm with the hotel before you book. This page is a summary, not legal or veterinary advice. We are not affiliated with any hotel chain.

More pet travel help

Flying there? Check the airline: American, Delta, United, Southwest, JetBlue. State entry rules: Pet travel rules for the USA.

OrlandoPet-friendly hotel rules and local tipsMiamiPet-friendly hotel rules and local tips